Vasco Dias @blog

another blog about stuff?? oh yeahh

My Xfce 4.8 configuration

After changing from kde to xfce i have spent my time looking for applications to fit well in the system and successfully removed kde completely from my computer. It was hard to find some applications to replace the equivalents from kde like i mentioned in the previous post, but i think i can live for now with the choices i made. I’m not completely happy with some of them yet so i’ll keep on until i find better replacements or until i’ve adapted.

The goal of this post is to show my current configurations, so i can remember them in the future if i need :D.

Some screenshots of how it is now:

Details:

Other Details:

Orage appearing to see the calendar when clicking the clock:

Custom menu configuration with just some things removed:

Window Manager buttons layout and configurations:

Relevant changes to window manager shortcuts:

And application shortcuts:

Applications List:

  • Archive Manager (rar’s, zipz, etc): File Roller
  • Image Viwer: Mirage
  • Multimedia: Smplayer
  • Msn client: emesene
  • Identi.ca client: heybuddy
  • Rss reader: Naufrago!
  • Irc client: Xchat
  • Torrent client: Transmission
  • Login Manager: Gdm
  • Network: NetworkManager (nm-applet)

Other applications:

  • Gigolo
  • VirtualBox
  • LibreOffice
  • Netbeans
  • Eclipse
  • KeePassX

And i think that’s essentially it. I’m not really happy with Naufrago! it is too unstable and buggy but it’s faster than liferea and for what i do it is enough for now. I don’t really like emesene too, sometimes it has a strange behaviour, but is close enough for what i want. Heybuddy is different in some stuff, but i’m liking it, i miss some small things like clicking on tray icon to hide and the settings tab i think shouldn’t exist there nor the about tab, those should be buttons in a right-click menu over the tray icon or in another place. I should remove Gdm, i just installed it because i needed something that quickly worked when uninstalling kdm.

 

[UPDATE]

My current application list is changed this way:

  • Archive manager: Xarchiver
  • Rss reader: newsbeuter
  • Login Manager: Slim
6 responses to “My Xfce 4.8 configuration

  1. danc 24 February 2011 at 06:07

    Nice !
    You can try squeeze as Archive manager,
    and wicd as network manager.
    Have fun!

  2. Milozzy 23 March 2011 at 11:50

    I recently switched to Xfce too and I love it!
    Which browser and Mail Client do you use?
    As image viewer I suggest to give Viewnior a try 😉

    Thanks & Bye!

    • diaz 23 March 2011 at 22:05

      Browser i just use firefox, sometimes i try midori but it’s too buggy. I don’t use any mail client, just gmail webinterface.
      I tried Viewnior but i prefer Mirage for now ;).

  3. dru8274 3 October 2011 at 22:20

    I thought the Liferea feedreader frustrating. Not many extra features, and slow to update. But for the last two years, I’ve been very happy using the RssOwl feedreader. I don’t normally use java programs, but its features and usability are light-years ahead of any other gui feedreaders for Linux. Definitely worth a try.

  4. Mil 25 September 2012 at 02:24

    Is it possible to add shortcuts to the right click Desktop menu ?

    • diaz 25 September 2012 at 21:34

      If it is possible at least I don’t know how.
      With my google fu I didn’t find any information about it.

      Maybe your best option is asking on irc or to the mailling list.

      😉

Leave a Reply

